Home Health & Wellness 14-Day Quarantine of Persons Arriving from 2019 NCoV Affected Countries

14-Day Quarantine of Persons Arriving from 2019 NCoV Affected Countries


Under Dept. of Interior and Local Government Memorandum Circular No. 2020-023 dated February 6, 2020, a 14-day quarantine of all persons arriving in the Philippines from countries affected with the 2019 Novel Corona Virus will be implemented by the local government units.

From the said memorandum circular, it would mean that those arriving from China, Japan, South Korea, Cambodia, Taiwan, Thailand Vietnam, Singapore, Australia, Malaysia, France, USA, UK and all the other countries with confirmed NCoV cases have also to undergo quarantine for two weeks upon arrival in the country.

However, DILG Undersecretary Jonathan Malaya clarified in an announcement Friday, February 7, 2020, that strict implementation of the 14-day quarantine is only for travelers from China, Macau and Hong Kong. All other travelers from NCoV affected countries may just undergo voluntary quarantine.

The memorandum circular “enjoins all local government units to effectively intensify the information, education and communication campaign on the nCoV ARD, and implement programs, projects and services that will promote the general welfare, public health and well being of every Filipino”.

Among others, said circular directs the organization of Barangay Health Emergency Response Teams (BHERTs) and the identification and designation of an appropriate place that will serve as the Barangay Isolation Unit.

A full copy of DILG MC 2020-023 is provided below:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version